I won the Dog Pound Lottery

The forum for general posting. Come join the madness. :)
silvercamaro
Dog's Best Friend

I won the Dog Pound Lottery

#1 Post by silvercamaro » Sun Dec 30, 2018 3:26 am

I've been keeping this as a secret from all of you for a couple of months. I figured Lizbit would spill the beans before I did. Okay, there was no actual lottery involved.

After Rusty died, life was too quiet. Finding another rescue greyhound became uncertain because of the closure of additional dog racetracks in Florida or elsewhere. Nobody knew how many dogs would become available or when or whether any of them would end up in Oklahoma rescue organizations. So, after scouring the internet, I suddenly spotted an "impossible" photo on the site of the local municipal animal shelter where I found Lizbit and Wiki, both of whom are wonderful canines in their own pointer-ish and border collie-ish ways, whatever the uncertainty of their breeding and previous lives might be.

The photo was "impossible" because the subject was a beautiful, young, male Weimaraner, and -- at least in my area and, I suspect, almost everywhere -- Weimaraners don't go to animal shelters. They just don't. They are sold for large sums of money or taken in by Weimaraner breed rescues who tend to adopt them out mostly (if not exclusively) to other Weimaraner owners.